An analysis of the plains zebra animal species of africa

Zebras are several species of African equids characterized by their distinctive black and white striped coats. A zebra in its preferred habitat of grassland. Zebras are a group of African equids easily distinguished by their distinctive black and white striped coats. The patterns of stripes of zebras is unique to each individual.

An analysis of the plains zebra animal species of africa

Although each species looks similar, there are differences in appearance. Zebra Species Like horses and asses, zebras belong to the equid family.

The main characteristics shared by the group are that they are long-lived, fast movers with large teeth suitable for chewing anything herbivorous. Zebra, regardless of species, live approximately 25 years in the wild and up to 40 in captivity.

The zebra looks similar to a horse, except he has a short, tufted mane and those distinctive stripes. Each zebra species has its own general stripe pattern, but more fascinatingly, every zebra has his own unique stripe pattern, in the way that a person has a unique set of fingerprints.

They may act as camouflage or like sunscreen, or they may keep flies away or help zebras to recognize each other according to the National Geographic. One of the best places to see plains zebra is in the Serengeti park in Tanzania, according to the African Wildlife Foundation.

The plains zebra likes to live in smallish units consisting of a stallion, a few mares and their young. These small units occasionally get together with others to form spectacularly enormous herds.

1 Grévy's zebra

These herds usually are the first to enter new grazing pastures, particularly wetlands. They trample down the long vegetation so the gazelle and wildebeest can follow.

Two features distinguish it from the other zebra species: Converting grazing land to agricultural use is one major threat to these animals. The Mountain Zebra The mountain zebra has two subspecies: These species mostly live in southern Africa, particularly Namibia and western South Africa.

Both subspecies are classified as endangered. In the past hunting decimated herds, but land cultivation now is a bigger threat.The purpose of the zebra's (Equus quagga) stripes is unclear.

None of the three species is more closely related to the others than it is to horses or asses; each species is a kind of equid which just happens to be striped like the others.

1 Mountain Zebra

The plains zebra is the only zebra - the others being. The Plains Zebra, also called ‘Common Zebra’, ‘Burchell’s Zebra’, and ‘Painted Zebra’, is an ungulate and equine from Africa that is native to over 15 African countries. The . The Plains zebra (Equus quagga, formerly Equus burchellii), also known as the common zebra or Burchell's zebra, is the most common and geographically widespread species of zebra.

An analysis of the plains zebra animal species of africa

It ranges from the south of Ethiopia through East Africa to as far south as Botswana and eastern South Chordata. There are four species of zebra: Plains, Grevy’s, Cape Mountain, and Hartmann’s Mountain. The Plains Zebra, on exhibit at The Maryland Zoo, is the most common and geographically widespread.

It is also known as the Common Zebra or Burchell’s Zebra. Plains Zebras roam Africa’s grasslands and venture into woodland and marshy areas as The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore.

The plains zebra (Equus quagga) is an ecologically important species of the African savannah. It is also one of the most numerous and widely distributed ungulates, and six subspecies have been.

The zebra is one of the most distinctive African animals. Its black and white striped coat is famous throughout the world.

Plains Zebra | Animals Wiki | FANDOM powered by Wikia

Zebras are herd animals, and are found in grasslands, savannas and woodlands. There are three species of zebra, the plains zebra, Grévy’s zebra and mountain zebra.

You can find out more about zebras here.

Quagga - Facts and Pictures